Back to Android Basics 4

So, here I am back with Android today and this is what I learnt and am still learning:

1. Android versions can be painful

If the Android studio version is not upgraded, it throws off by running into errors during execution. So, it is better to have one's Android studio version updated at all times

2. Design Layout is vital and most of the coding can be done here

So, most of the constraints, id names, values can be set in Design Layout itself. Here, I can view what is going on inside the app and add, update, edit, remove values and attributes. I also made a flexible textbox using simply design layout in Android Studio.

P.S. Here, I think, most of the errors or troubleshooting happens. I came over a challenge where I could not zoom into the design and it was stuck at 5%. On googling, I realized, it is one of the many errors/challenges that are faced by coders. For me, changing the virtual device emulator helped me in getting the functionality back.

3. Working with intents

Today, I worked with Intents. Intent provides runtime binding between separate components, in simpler words - it represents an app’s intent to do something. Here also, tweaking was required so that the activity can function as per the guidelines. It was fun coding with intents and seeing what rules are required for intents to work.

All in all, today, I started with 2 activities with one activity being the main one and the other being dependent and called by an Intent of a View. It was fun, how exploring on what I can call, the keys and attributes that I need to define beforehand and bind it with a View so that it can be called by an intent and then using it. Today was a satisfying day.

Adios!