How I failed in creating Eleventy site

How I failed in creating Eleventy site

This is a story of my eleventy journey and the mistakes I committed and failed in creating a customized Eleventy website of my own:

1. Forking Repos

Sounds familiar right. It is always an easy way out to fork repos and use it for our own use. The major mistake I made was that I forked repos without any basic understanding of what is actually going on in the repo. I did not put the effort in to go through the documentation, the stuff that is being put on there or what is exactly happening. I simply cloned repos and tried to figure out stuff without knowing about it first.

2. No documentation

While facing the issues that I faced, I did not document my errors and the way I resolved it. So, when I faced the same issue which I had faced previously, there was no ReadMe to look back to. It was a jungle and I got lost in my own errors. Currently, I have started to document and it is way too better to have a guide which has a list of issues that have been faced and resolve it as and when it comes

3. Lacked consistency

I lacked the consistency to keep on going when I failed. I would give up midway or struggle through and then relax and forget about it and then when I would see another Eleventy website or project, I would jump right into it. I did not have the consistency to continue.

4. No big picture

I did not have any big picture in mind. I was just putting the pieces and customized the code as I saw fit without any destination in head. Without knowing the destination, I was getting lost in process and I only stopped when I got tired or when I wanted to give up.

5. No breaking of tasks

Weird, isn't it? I never broke down my tasks or time which resulted in loss of my time and more effort being put in getting the job done

6. No enjoyment of process

I was so fixated on making things work that I did not enjoy the nitty and gritty of enjoying the process. I was obsessed in getting results fast and not take the steps of learning the basics first or even going through it.

As Edison once said

I didn't fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps.

thomas-alva-edison-american-inventor-260nw-1707052492.webp

Well, I have not yet tried even 1/10th of what Edison has tried and yes, these points are kind of my breadcrumbs of what not to do while doing a website.

Hope you liked reading this article of mine!